Do you need a permit for windows and doors in Highland Park?
Highland Park requires permits for remodeling, additions and repairs, but its Community Development page does not name windows or doors. The Town does say that permits are required prior to beginning construction. Whether a same-size window swap needs a permit is not stated, so call the Town before you order anything.
This post reads Town pages as of November 2026. Rules change, and this is not legal advice. The Town of Highland Park is the final word on its own permits.
Who is responsible for the permit?
The property owner is. The Town’s page says the individual doing the work must apply for the permit, but “the property owner is responsible for making sure that a permit is obtained.”
In plain terms: your contractor may file the paperwork, but you carry the duty. Ask for the permit number before work begins. Keep a copy.
Also ask any bidder for proof of their Texas licenses and of any registration the Town requires.
What inspections happen on a permitted job?
Inspections must happen before work is concealed. The Town says that once construction has begun, inspections must be obtained before concealing work. For a window project, that can mean the opening, flashing and framing are visible before trim and finish go on.
Plan the schedule around that rule. Do not let a crew close up the wall because the finish carpenter is waiting.
What hours can construction run?
Monday through Saturday, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. That is the Town’s published rule for construction within the Town. It matters for a window install, because delivery and setting of large units take time and make noise.
Tell your neighbors, and tell your install crew the limit in writing. The Town can change the rule, so confirm it before you set a date.

What energy code does Highland Park use?
The Town says it uses the 2024 IRC and 2024 I-Codes, along with the 2023 NEC, all with local amendments. Its residential builders packet also lists 2024 IECC compliance signed by an energy consultant with ICC certification.
The IECC is the International Energy Conservation Code. It sets minimum energy rules for the building shell, including windows and doors. See our post on energy codes across DFW to compare Highland Park with other cities.
What does the packet say about window and door numbers?
The plan checklist asks for window and door sizes with SHGC and U-factor, and shows the limits “SHGC < 0.25 max & U-Factor < 0.35 max.” Two numbers describe how a window handles heat and light.
- SHGC is the solar heat gain coefficient. It measures how much of the sun’s heat passes through the glass. Lower means less heat gets in.
- U-factor measures how fast heat moves through the whole window. Lower means better insulation.
| Item on the checklist | What the packet says | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Window and door sizes | Listed with SHGC and U-factor | Your plans must show both numbers for each unit. |
| Limits shown | SHGC < 0.25 max, U-factor < 0.35 max | Choose units whose label numbers fall under both. |
| Energy compliance | 2024 IECC, signed by an ICC-certified energy consultant | Budget time and cost for the energy sign-off. |
| Codes in use | 2024 IRC and I-Codes, 2023 NEC, with local amendments | Your designer should work to those editions. |
The checklist is part of a plan submittal for a residential permit. Whether it applies to a single window swap is not stated in the packet. Ask the Town. We also do not call these numbers “the code requirement” for every job, because scope matters.
To read the numbers on a real product, use the NFRC label. Our guide to reading an NFRC label shows where each number sits, and the SHGC and U-factor guide for Texas explains the trade-offs.

How does this shape your product choice?
Ask for the NFRC numbers before you fall in love with a frame. The glass package decides much of the SHGC and U-factor result, whatever the frame material.
Questions to ask any maker:
- What are the NFRC-rated U-factor and SHGC for this exact unit and glass?
- Are those numbers for the whole window, or only the glass?
- Do you supply a rating certificate for plan review?
Makers publish ratings in different places and for different samples. Ask each one for a rating sheet for your exact configuration. Do not use a number from another product.
Honey Rock works with Jada, Bertrand and Sun Windows. See our page on thermally broken steel windows and the Park Cities area page for how these products fit homes there.

Do deed restrictions or an architectural board apply?
We did not find a published window rule from the Town beyond the pages above. Private deed restrictions and review boards are separate from the Town. Their rules are not on the Town pages we read. Check your deed and ask your neighbors or your title company.
What should you bring to the Town?
Bring a clear plan set. The Town’s packet is a plan checklist, so a complete package is the right preparation. We suggest this list, and the Town may ask for more:
- A window and door schedule with sizes, types and glass.
- SHGC and U-factor for each unit, from the maker’s rating sheet.
- The energy compliance document the packet describes.
- Contractor details and proof of Texas licenses.
- Photos of the existing openings.
Ask the Town which pieces apply to your scope before you pay for any of them.
Next step
Planning windows or doors in Highland Park? Call (214) 484-9982 or send details through /contact-us. For how we approach Dallas-area window projects, see window replacement in Dallas and our builders and architects page.
Questions people ask
Do I need a permit for new windows in Highland Park?
The Town lists permits for remodeling, additions and repairs, but its page does not name windows or doors. Whether a like-for-like swap needs a permit is not stated there. Call the Town's Community Development office before you order.
Who is responsible for getting the permit?
The Town says the individual doing the work must apply, but the property owner is responsible for making sure a permit is obtained. Ask your contractor who will apply, then confirm the permit exists before work starts.
What hours can construction run in Highland Park?
The Town says construction is permitted within the Town from Monday through Saturday, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tell your install crew and confirm the rule with the Town, because it can change.
What energy code does Highland Park use?
The builders packet says the Town uses the 2024 IRC and 2024 I-Codes, along with the 2023 NEC, all with local amendments. It also asks for 2024 IECC compliance signed by an energy consultant with ICC certification on plan submittals.
Terms on this page
Sources
- Town of Highland Park: Community Development
- Town of Highland Park: Community Development (owner responsibility)
- Town of Highland Park: Community Development (working hours)
- Town of Highland Park: Residential Builders Packet (codes)
- Town of Highland Park: Residential Builders Packet (window and door sizes)
- Town of Highland Park: Residential Builders Packet (energy compliance)
- Town of Highland Park: Community Development (inspections)
Written by Honey Rock Window and Door and checked against the sources above on September 20, 2026. Product specifications and city rules change, so check the linked page before you act.

